Bio

Gerard de Valence
Gerard de Valence

I taught construction economics at the School of the Built Environment at the University of Technology Sydney from 1992 to 2020, and at the Bartlett School of Construction and Project Management at University College London from 2014 to 2020. At UTS I was the founding Course Director of the Master of Real Estate Investment (2015-17) and was previously Course Director of the Master of Property Development (2007-14) and the Master of Facilities Management (2005-07).

In the 1980s, prior to becoming an academic, I worked in the Sydney CBD for Australian Stock Exchange Research and for the Property Council of Australia. From 1990-92 I was the economist for the Royal Commission into Productivity in the Building Industry in NSW. Over the 1990s I worked with the Construction Industry Development Agency and other Australian Government departments and inquiries, the NSW Department of Public Works and Services, and industry associations representing contractors and subcontractors.

During the 1990s I started going to the annual CIB conferences on Construction Management and Construction Economics. The CIB is the International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction. Between 2002 and 2011 I was Coordinator of the research group on Construction Economics (CIB W55).

With Rick Best I was co-editor of the three volume Building in Value series of books published between 1999 and 2003: Pre-design Issues; Design and Construction; and Workplace Strategies and Facilities Management. In 2011 Taylor and Francis published my Modern Construction Economics: Theory and Application. In 2022 Creative Destruction and Constructing the Built Environment: From the first industrial revolution to the fourth was published.   

At the end of 2016 I started the Construction Industry Economics and Policy blog, and in 2020 added the Construction Economics Research website. Posts before 2021 that are not on Substack are available there and on the original Blogger page.

My research papers can be found on Google Scholar and ResearchGate.